STANDARDS COMMITTEE

24 OCTOBER 2024

REPORT OF HEAD OF DEMOCRATIC SERVICES & ELECTIONS

A.3 <u>TOWN & PARISH COUNCILS' STANDARDS SUB-COMMITTEE –</u> APPOINTMENT OF TENDRING DISTRICT COUNCIL MEMBERS

(Report prepared by Ian Ford, Committee Services Manager)

PART 1 – KEY INFORMATION

PURPOSE OF THE REPORT

To enable the Committee to appoint Tendring District Council's members to serve on the Town and Parish Councils' Standards Sub-Committee for the remainder of the 2024/2025 Municipal Year.

BACKGROUND

Article 9 (Standards Committee and Town & Parish Councils' Standards Sub-Committee) of the Council's Constitution states that the Council will have, in place, a Town & Parish Councils' Standards Sub-Committee with the following terms of reference:-

"To advise and assist Town and Parish Councils and Councillors to maintain high standards of conduct and to make recommendations to Parish and Town Councils on improving standards or actions following a finding of a failure by a Parish Councillor to comply with its Code of Conduct." [Article 9.05]

Article 9.05 also requires the Sub-Committee to consist of three members of the Standards Committee and three non-voting co-opted Town & Parish Council members nominated by the Tendring District Association of Local Councils (TDALC). In addition, the nominated Town & Parish Council members will be of an independent standing and they will not have served as a District Councillor or as a County Councillor for a period of four years prior to their nomination.

The Standards Committee, at its meeting held on 19 July 2023 (Minute 7 refers), appointed Councillors Ann Oxley, Michael Talbot and Ann Wiggins to serve on the Town and Parish Councils' Standards Sub-Committee. The Committee were also informed at that meeting of TDALC's nominated members.

I can report that Frank Belgrove, Alresford Parish Councillor and the Chairman of TDALC, emailed the Committee Services Manager on 23 September 2024 and confirmed that TDALC's three appointments to the Town & Parish Councils' Standards Sub-Committee remain as listed below:-

- 1. Cllr Frank Belgrove (Chairman TDALC) Alresford PC:
- 2. Cllr Danny Botterell (Vice Chairman TDALC) Little Clacton PC; and
- 3. Cllr Linda Belgrove (Member TDALC) Alresford PC.

RECOMMENDATIONS

It is recommended that the Standards Committee:-

- (a) appoints three of its members to serve on the Town & Parish Councils' Standards Sub-Committee for the remainder of the 2024/2025 Municipal Year; and
- (b) notes that the Tendring District Association of Local Councils (TDALC) has previously appointed Parish Councillors Frank Belgrove, Linda Belgrove and Danny Botterell as their three non-voting, co-opted members of that Sub-Committee.